top of page

Packaging design that works for all

A few days ago, I was in the supermarket when an elderly lady stopped me, politely asking:


Could you help me read this label?

She held up two boxes to me and explained to me that she couldn't make out the type of vegetable that both contained.





The lady was in her 80s, looking for an easy dinner. It had never occurred to me that ready meals would also cater to the elderly. I'd always assumed their customer base were mainly younger people with less time or interest in cooking.


If you look at both boxes above, you'll notice that they look very similar, and one would have to be able to read the words "Andijvie" and "Spinazie" to really be sure of what you're buying.


Once I'd told her which was which, she immediately lit up and said "Yes, I was looking for the spinach!".


Got me thinking, though, wouldn't it be more convenient and quicker for everyone, and not just the hard of sight, if the packaging were more distinct? Such as giving a different colour label for each different box, so that once this lady knows the one she likes is purple, for example, she could always just pick up the purple box?

2 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page