top of page

Getting responses to your cold calls

Have you ever sent "cold emails" to market yourself or your products, or have you ever been on the receiving end of such emails?


I recently created sticker sheets and tote bags that I thought (or hoped) would be interesting to the local market. I have the same in my shop on Etsy, but I thought being stocked in a brick and mortar shop would also give me much-needed exposure.


So I compiled a few places to email, and wrote to them of my products, including photos and prices. I kept the locations quite small-scale, as I don't mass-produce my stock.


I received two responses, both declining my services, but with two very different approaches to doing so.


The first response I received went like this:

Hallo, als er nieuwe producten moeten komen voor de winkel, zoeken we die op de beurzen. Er komen dagelijks mailtjes binnen, van mensen die in onze winkel willen verkopen, daar is gewoonweg geen tijd voor, dat zou dagtaak zijn.

Translation:

Hello, if new products are needed for the store, we look for them at the fairs. Emails come in every day from people who want to sell in our store, there is simply no time for that, that would be a day job.

The next response I got went like this:

Beste Jun-Yi, Hartelijk dank voor je offerte. Wij gaan er geen gebruik van maken daar onze bezoekers voornamelijk uit lokaalgebied komen. Succes met je onderneming.

Translation:

Dear Jun-Yi, Thank you very much for your quote. We will not use it as our visitors mainly come from the local area. Good luck with your business.

If you were on the receiving end, which response would more likely encourage you to push on, and which would just make you feel lousy? Wouldn't both take an equal amount of time to write, but result in two very different reactions?


This post is just a reminder to be kind to people. It doesn't take much out of your day to do so.

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page