top of page

Officially in business!

Yesterday, I visited my old city of Rotterdam, where I lived for 6 years. My purpose was to officially register my design and illustration business. It was a rare sunny and wind-less day, which I take as a good sign for my business!


If you are in The Netherlands, and you are Dutch, AND you are considering starting a business on your own, you can be considered a zzp'er. I'm all of the above, so this is how I did it.


  1. Fill in a form at the KvK website This saves everyone time, and you can do this in the comfort of your own home! You will need a DigiD to log in.

  2. Make an appointment at the KvK At the end of the online form, you can click on a button that will lead you to make an appointment at the KvK. You can pick any branch nationwide. The closest branch to me is in Alkmaar, but the first available appointment was a month away, so I picked Rotterdam, which, being bigger, had a lot more slots available. It's a convenient visit for me, so I picked this.

  3. Be on time for your appointment In my case, I was early, and they even called me in right away. Great service! Remember to bring along a legitimate identification document, such as a driver's license or passport, and a payment method, such as a phone or card.

  4. Check your details, make the payment, and you're done! The person helping you will have all the information you filled in before your appointment. You will be asked to check it on the screen, then it will be printed, you will sign the documents, and you will be given a folder with your invoice for starting a business (it was € 80,10 at the time of writing in 2024), and your KvK number, which is important to state that you are a registered business.


If you are an entrepreneur, you are most likely required to charge VAT (or BTW) for your sales. If this is the case, you will receive your VAT number from the tax department automatically within two weeks.


Now, after this quick educational break, I have to get back to acquiring clients, getting sales, and being a thriving business owner!

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page